Nursing and Midwifery Gradstart Program

The South Western Sydney Local Health District (SWSLHD) Nursing and Midwifery Gradstart Program offers the opportunity to work in various SWSLHD facilities and services to support your transition to practice as a Registered Nurse or Midwife. The program aims to provide each Registered Nurse or Midwife with a consistent and positive transition experience to clinical practice and professional development.

Applications for the NSW Health 2021 GradStart recruitment will open at 9am Wednesday 23rd June 2021 and close at 4pm Wednesday 7th July 2021.. 

Apply now

Program Objectives

  • To support the ongoing individual learning and development needs of graduate nurses and midwives in the consolidation of skills and knowledge.
  • To promote a consistent and supportive learning environment across different facilities and clinical areas
  • To foster self-directed and lifelong learning skills in a learner centred program
  • To facilitate the completion of a professional nurse/midwife portfolio to record achievements and skills as per the AHPRA standards


12 months

Program Structure

The Gradstart Program includes:

  • A committed and supportive program coordinator
  • Corporate and workplace orientation
  • Up to five (5) educational support days
  • Two (2) six-month clinical rotations (three rotations for midwifery)

Locations and Educational Facilities

The South Western Sydney Centre for Education & Workforce Development (SWSCEWD) incorporates state of the art education and simulation environments to support the ongoing professional development needs of the SWSLHD workforce.

Registered Nurses and Midwives can undertake the program in the following hospitals and services:

For the SWSLHD Gradstart recruitment 2022, facility/service preferences will be collected during the interview process.

For further information please contact

Bankstown Hospital
Fairfield Hospital
Liverpool Hospital
Bowral Hospital
Camden & Campbelltown Hospitals
Primary and Community Health Service
Drug Health Service
Mental Health Service

Please note that there may be two to three intakes at each facility. First intake typically commences in March. Upon receiving your formal letter of offer, intake dates will be determined.

Nursing rotations are available in a diverse range of clinical environments across SWSLHD and include:

  • Medical
  • Surgical
  • Acute Aged Care
  • Emergency
  • Palliative Care
  • Intensive Care
  • Cardiothoracic
  • Orthopaedic
  • Haematology
  • Rehabilitation
  • Special Care Nursery (NICU)
  • Paediatrics
  • Brain Injury Unit
  • Ambulatory Care
  • Cancer Therapy
  • Perioperative Services
    • Operating Theatres
    • Anaesthetics
    • Recovery (PACU)
    • Day Surgery
Midwifery rotations include:  
  • Birthing Unit
  • Post-natal Ward
  • Antenatal Clinics
  • Outreach Clinics


To be eligible for the SWSLHD Gradstart Program, undergraduate students MUST apply through the NSW Ministry of Health website.

To be eligible to apply to 2022 GradStart you must:

  • Complete your nursing or midwifery degree between 1st June 2021 and 31st May 2022. This means you must have received your final result during this time.
  • Meet all the requirements to become a registered nurse or registered midwife with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA) ‚Äč prior to the agreed date of your employment commencing. You can start your application for registration with the NMBA up to 6 weeks before completing your studies
  • Hold Australian citizenship or hold a visa that allows ongoing full-time employment in Australia.

2021 Gradstart Application and Recruitment Youtube modules:



NSW Ministry of Health |   SWSLHD on YouTube   SWSLHD on Facebook   SWSLHD on Twitter
Disclaimer | Privacy Statement | Accessibility | Sitemap
© 2018 South Western Sydney Local Health District
Page last updated: 27 May, 2021