Liverpool Network Basic Physician Training




The Liverpool Network comprises of three Hospitals, Liverpool, Fairfield and Tweed Hospitals.

Our network operates on a 6-12-6 model:

  • Trainees are initially seconded to non-core terms such as Nights/Relief, General Medicine or ICU at Liverpool or our network sites outside of Liverpool for the first 6 months (2 x 3 month terms).
  • They then return to Liverpool for the next 12 months (4 x 3 month terms) into core specialty terms, taking advantage of the structured training program for the RACP Written and Clinical Examinations.
  • They will then complete their training with 6 months (2 x 3 month terms) on non-core terms ¬†once again.

Our hospitals include:

Liverpool Hospital

Liverpool HospitalLiverpool Hospital is the major tertiary referral centre and teaching hospital for South Western Sydney. It provides specialty services including all major medical subspecialties, surgical, emergency, intensive care, mental health, women’s health and newborn care for residents across South Western Sydney. It has a strong culture of commitment to teaching and research across a wide range of disciplines.

Liverpool Hospital has always had a commitment to innovation that has resulted in a number of systems implemented in a number of hospitals worldwide, including day of surgery admissions and the Medical Emergency Team (MET). It also houses a comprehensive ambulatory care centre and the Ingham Institute of Applied Medical Research.

Liverpool has full accreditation with the RACP as a Level 3 hospital

Liverpool Hospital offers the following rotations to Basic Physician Trainees:

Liverpool Network BPT Rotations
Subspecialty Positions per term
Acute Medicine 4
Cardiology 4
Endocrinology 1
Gastroenterology 2
General Medicine 1
Geriatrics 3
Haematology 1
Infectious Diseases 1
Immunology 1
Neurology 2
Medical Oncology 2
Palliative Care 1
Renal 2
Respiratory 2
Rheumatology 1
Nights/Relief 10



Fairfield Hospital

Fairfield HospitalFairfield Hospital is a great place to work combining a variety of specialities, services and opportunities within a friendly, professional and organised environment. Fairfield Hospital is a major metropolitan hospital that provides 24 hr emergency care, cardiac care, dialysis, maternity, paediatrics, comprehensive medical/surgical care and a variety of outpatient services.

Each year Fairfield Hospital admits over 16,000 patients and provides emergency/outpatient care to over 100,000 patients. It has approximately 230 beds and a range of staff dedicated to providing the best possible care and service.

It is a teaching hospital of the University of NSW, and an Associate of Western Sydney University.

Fairfield Hospital is located in a pleasant part of South West Sydney close to shops, schools and other services [e.g. public transport, gyms, golf course etc.]. Fairfield Hospital is easily accessible using public transport and main arterial roads such as the M7, M5 and M4.

Fairfield has full accreditation with the RACP as a Level 1 hospital

Fairfield Hospital offers the following rotations to Basic Physician Trainees:

  • General Medicine
  • Geriatric Rehabilitation

Tweed Hospital

Tweed Head HospitalThe Tweed Hospital (TTH) is located in the city of Tweed Heads. It is a regional referral, level 5 base hospital within the Northern Rivers Area Health Service. It is the most northerly hospital in New South Wales, only metres away from Coolangatta on the Queensland border.

The catchment for the hospital includes the Southern Gold Coast and Tweed Valley, providing care to over 45,000 patients every year.

The hospital is accredited by the Australian Council on Healthcare. Tweed Heads offers accredited training positions in the specialities of Anaesthetics, Medicine, Orthopaedics, General Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine and Psychiatry.

The Tweed hospital has the busiest Emergency Department in rural NSW and is linked to helicopter retrieval services. It is an affiliated teaching hospital for medical students from the Universities of Queensland, NSW, Sydney, Bond and Griffith.

The Tweed Hospital has full accreditation with the RACP as a Level 1 hospital

The Tweed Hospital offers the following rotations to Basic Physician Trainees:

  • General Medicine
  • Gastroenterology
  • Cardiology¬†
  • Endocrine
  • Respiratory
  • Renal
  • ID and Hospital in the Home
  • Haematology
  • Geriatrics


NSW Ministry of Health |   SWSLHD on YouTube   SWSLHD on Facebook   SWSLHD on Twitter
Disclaimer | Privacy Statement | Accessibility | Sitemap
© 2018 South Western Sydney Local Health District
Page last updated: 28 February, 2020